The Curriculum and Qualifications

Curriculum for Excellence is the new curriculum currently being introduced in Scottish schools.  It will support children and young people to become successful learners, confident individuals, effective contributors and responsible citizens – these are known as the four capacities. 

As part of Curriculum for Excellence, changes will be made to national secondary school qualifications – Standard Grades and Intermediates will be replaced with National 4 and 5 qualifications.  This is due to take place in the school year 2013-2014. Children entering first year of secondary school in 2010 will be sitting the new national qualifications by the time they reach third year.

Highers and Advanced Highers will also be revised, with the revised Highers being available in 2014-2015 and Advanced Highers being available in 2015-2016.  Please see the Curriculum for Excellence section for more information.

Current qualifications and exams

Learning and Teaching Scotland and the Scottish Qualifications Authority have produced helpful online exam information and guides for current secondary school qualifications, which are summarised in the Quick Guide to Secondary School Qualifications.

See also...

Curriculum for Excellence

Quick Guide to Secondary School Qualifications

Qualifications Explained

Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework

Wider Achievement